Search the news archive:
Giro D’Italia announces 2008 teams
By Bart Hazen
Date: 2/1/2008
Giro D’Italia announces 2008 teams
Giro D'Italia announces 2008 teams

De organization of the Giro D'Italia, RCS Sport, have announced the 21 teams for the 2008 event on Friday February 1st. The big absentees are the ProTour teams Astana, High Road (with former Maglia Rosa Marco Pinotti), Credit Agricole and Bouygues Telecom. Also the Italian Acqua & Sapone, team of the double stage winner in 2007, Stefano Garzelli didn't get an invitation.

The Giro D'Italia doesn't belong to the ProTour anymore in 2008 due to the conflict with the UCI. Also the other races organized by the RCS (Milan-SanRemo, Tirreno-Adriatico and Giro di Lombardia) as well as the races of the ASO (Tour de France) and Unipublic (Vuelta D'Espana) are no longer part of the ProTour.

Next to the 14 remaining ProTour teams the invitations went to Team Barloworld (Soler, Gasparotto, Hunter), CSF Group-Navigare (Sella), Diquigiovanni (Simoni, Bertolini), LPR Brakes (Di Luca, Savoldelli), NGC Medical (Reda, Zagorodny), Slipstream (Millar, Zabriskie, Vandevelde) and Tinkoff (Mazzanti, Petrov, Ignatiev).

The teams:

- Ag2r-La Mondiale
- Barloworld
- Caisse d'Epargne
- Cofidis
- CSF Group-Navigare
- Diquigiovanni-Androni
- Euskaltel-Euskadi
- Française des Jeux
- Gerolsteiner
- Lampre
- Liquigas
- LPR Brakes
- NGC Medical-OTC Indutria Porte
- Quick Step
- Rabobank
- Saunier Duval-Scott
- Silence-Lotto
- Slipstream
- Team CSC
- Team Milram
- Tinkoff Credit Systems

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |