Search the news archive:
Team Type 1 - UCI Continental 2008
By Staff
Date: 12/21/2007
Team Type 1 - UCI Continental 2008

Team Type 1 - UCI Continental 2008
Matt Wilson leads the two time RAAM victors into the pro ranks on a mission to educate & inspire health. International squad: Brooks, Kobzarenko, Calabria, Glen Chadwick, Jesse Anthony...

Team Type 1 brings diabetes healthcare message to professional cycling
Two-time winners of the Race Across America (RAAM), Team Type 1 will join the ranks of professional cycling in 2008, bringing with them the inspirational message that athletes with diabetes can compete and win at the highest levels of sport with good control of their diabetes.

“Our goal is to inspire people with diabetes around the world to take control of their health through diet, exercise and proper health care,” said team co-founder Phil Southerland who was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes at seven months old. “As a professional team, racing against the world’s best cyclists, we’ll be able to deliver that message to a much wider audience.”

Of the team’s 13 elite cyclists with diabetes, four will be part of Team Type 1’s professional roster, licensed as a UCI Continental Team, while 10 will compete as an amateur development team in RAAM and other events. 11 non-diabetic riders will join the pro team.

To make the transition, Southerland and co-founder Joe Eldridge, who launched the team in 2004, have collaborated with veteran cycling team managers Tom Schuler and Ed Beamon, who between them have presided over more than 30 pro racing seasons.

Matt Wilson to Lead Team
Leading the pro squad will be Australian Matt Wilson, a veteran of the European peloton riding for Mercury/Viatel, Francaise de Jeux and Unibet having ridden the tour de France and Giro d'Italia. This year Wilson started his year with a victory in the 2007 Herald Sun Tour. “This team is no gimmick,” Wilson said. “These guys are the real deal. What they’re able to do as athletes, despite diabetes, is remarkable.”

The four riders with diabetes joining the pro team will be Eldridge, Southerland, New Zealand’s Tim Hargrave and Australian Fabio Calabria.

The remainder of Team Type 1’s pro roster is a balanced group ranging from veterans Ben Brooks, Glen Chadwick and Valeriy Kobzarenko to young talents like Ian MacGregor and Jesse Anthony. Sprinter Emile Abraham, climber Moises Aldape Chavez and all-arounders Dan Holt, Chris Jones and Shawn Milne round out the squad, which includes riders from six nations.

Team Type 1’s primary sponsor will be sanofi-aventis. Other sponsors include Abbott Diabetes Care, Insulet Corporation and Can-Am Care, LLC. The team will ride Orbea bikes with SRAM components and Zipp wheels. Champion System will be the team’s clothing supplier.

Eldridge, who was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes at age 10, added, “We have a strong group of riders, experienced management, great sponsors, and an important message. Everything is in place for us to have a great year, both on and off the bike.”

2008 Team Type 1 Professional Team Roster
Emile Abraham (34) Trinidad & Tobago
Moises Chaves Aldape (27) Mexico
Jesse Anthony (23) USA
Ben Brooks (29) Australia
Fabio Calabria (21) Australia*
Glen Chadwick (32) New Zealand
Joe Eldridge (26) USA *
Tim Hargrave (23) New Zealand *
Dan Holt (27) USA
Chris Jones (29) USA
Valeriy Kobzarenko (31) Ukraine
Ian MacGregor (25) USA
Shawn Milne (27) USA
Phil Southerland (26) USA *
Matt Wilson (31) Australia
* indicates riders with Type 1 diabetes

2008 Team Type 1 Development Team
(all riders with Type 1 diabetes):
Nathan Bartels  26 - USA
Alex Bowden  19 - USA
Matt Brooks  21 - USA
Monique Hanley  30 - Australia
Andy Mead  30 - USA
Morgan Patton  20 - USA
Tim Powell  41- USA
Bob Schrank  40 - USA
Mark Suprenant  44- USA

For more information visit Team Type 1's website:

Discuss this race and the sport with other cycling fans from around the world on the Daily Forums and Chat Room.  Sponsor the daily peloton & advertise your product or service to cyclists and cycling fans on - contact us.

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |