Search the news archive:
UCI World Road Championships - US Team
By Staff
Date: 9/25/2007
UCI World Road Championships - US Team

Twenty-two American Cyclists ready to take on the worlds' best cyclists at the 2010 UCI Road World Championships

Eight elite men, eight elite women and six U23 men were named to the U.S. National Team.

Featuring seven UCI ProTour riders and one of the top domestic-based pros, the elite men’s squad is one of the strongest assembled by USA Cycling for the world championships in recent years. Included on the 2007 roster are George Hincapie (Greenville, S.C./Discovery Channel), David Zabriskie (Salt Lake City, Utah/Team CSC), Bobby Julich (Glenwood Springs, Colo./Team CSC), Christian Vande Velde (Boulder, Colo./Team CSC), Jason McCartney (Coralville, Iowa/Discovery Channel), John Devine (Dixon, Ill./Discovery Channel), Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash./Cofidis) and Danny Pate (Colorado Springs, Colo./Slipstream-Chipotle).

All eight will contest the 267-kilometer road race while Zabriskie, the defending silver medalist, and McCartney, a recent stage winner at the Vuelta a Espaρa, will compete in the time trial.

Representing the women’s team in the road race will be Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho/Team Lipton), Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif./Flexpoint), Christine Thorburn (Menlo Park, Calif./Webcor Builders), Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Webcor Builders), Tina Pic (Dahlonega, Ga./Colavita-Sutter Home-Cooking Light), Lauren Franges (Asheville, N.C./Team Lipton) and Katheryn Curi (Mountain View, Calif./Webcor Builders).

All seven women will contest the 172-kilometer road race as the U.S. secured the maximum number of start positions plus an entry for Pic, the current Pan American road race champion.

The U.S. will also have four time trial entries for the elite women’s category which are filled by defending world champion Armstrong, current Pan American champion Alison Powers (Boulder, Colo./Colavita-Sutter Home-Cooking Light), Neben and Thorburn.

The five athletes representing the United States in the U23 road race will be Peter Stetina (Boulder, Colo./Slipstream-Chipotle), Craig Lewis (Spartanburg, S.C./Slipstream-Chipotle), Tejay Van Garderen (Fort Collins, Colo./VMG Racing), Max Jenkins (Berkeley, Calif./California Giant) and Tom Peterson (Boulder, Colo./Slipstream-Chipotle).

Van Garderen and USA Cycling U23 National Time Trial Champion Nick Frey (Des Moines, Iowa/HART) will contest the U23 time trial.

U.S. Team

Elite Men:
George Hincapie (Greenville, S.C.) – Road Race
David Zabriskie (Salt Lake City, Utah) – Road Race, Time Trial
Bobby Julich (Glenwood Springs, Colo.) – Road Race
Christian Vande Velde (Boulder, Colo.) – Road Race
Jason McCartney (Coralville, Iowa) – Road Race, Time Trial
John Devine (Dixon, Ill.) – Road Race
Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash.) – Road Race
Danny Pate (Colorado Springs, Colo.) – Road Race

Elite Women:
Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho) – Road Race, Time Trial
Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif.) – Road Race, Time Trial
Christine Thorburn (Menlo Park, Calif.) – Road Race, Time Trial
Lauren Franges (Asheville, N.C.) – Road Race
Katheryn Curi (Mountain View, Calif.) – Road Race
Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo.) – Road Race
Tina Pic (Dahlonega, Ga.) – Road Race
Alison Powers (Boulder, Colo.) – Time Trial

U23 Men:
Peter Stetina (Boulder, Colo.) – Road Race
Tom Peterson (Boulder, Colo.) – Road Race
Craig Lewis (Spartanburg, S.C.) – Road Race
Max Jenkins (Berkeley, Calif.) – Road Race
Tejay Van Garderen (Fort Collins, Colo.) – Road Race, Time Trial
Nick Frey (Des Moines, Iowa) Time Trial

Related Articles
UCI Road World Championships-Preview
World Championships - Canadians cyclists still confident

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |