Search the news archive:
Uniqa Classic: Boonen wins stage
By Anita van Crey
Date: 7/11/2002
Uniqa Classic: Boonen wins stage
Youngster and Paris-Roubaix surprise outsprinted the bunch in Austrians Uniqa Classic. Leader in the general classification stays Italian rider Devis Miorin (De Nardi-Montegrappa). Behind Boonen Mapeis Davide Bramati finishes second, just ahead of Arnold Eisel and Harald Morscher.

In this second stage too a breakaway group of 18 riders tried to stay ahead of the bunchg. In this group Sasa Sviben is the only one who was also present in the attacking group the day before. The group reaches a gap of three minutes but at 74 kilometres the peloton is again complete. Six k. later Claudio Astolfi attacks. The italian wins the Vorsprungs(=lead)Preis(=price) and three bonusses but is overtaken by the bunch about 60 k. later.

At the last climb, 10 k. before the finish, Gerolsteiner rider Uwe Hardtner tried to make the difference, but the other riders did not let him get away. In Rabenstein an der Pielach Belgian Tom Boonen takes home the victory-flowers by beating Bramati, Eisel and Morscher (last two both from Austria).

"We speculate about a good race tomorrow. Tomorrows stage does have a lot of climbing to do, right at the strat there is a about 15 k. long climb. Our youngsters Sebastian Lang and Uwe Hardter today did show good form at the climbs, they will propably ride good as well tomorrow." says Theo Macher, Gerolsteiner Team director.

Second stage
Traismauer – Rabenstein / Pielach
166 km

1. Tom Boonen (BEL, US Postal) 4:11:39
2. Davide Bramati (ITA, Mapei)
3. Arnold Eisel (Ö, ELK-Haus)
4. Harald Morscher (Ö, Nürnberger)
5. Federico Giabbecucci (ITA, Acqua & Sapone)
6. Christian Wegmann (Saeco)
all same time

General classification after stage 2
1. Devis Miorin (Ita-Nar) 8.25,34
2. Christian Wegmann (Ger-Sae) at 00,02
3. Adam Homolka (Cze-Gbk) at 00,06
4. Tom Stremersch (Bel-Lot) at 00,11
5. Bernhard Kohl (Aut-Elk) at 00,14
6. Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra-C.A) at 00,14
7. Davide Bramati (Ita-Map) at 03,03
8. Christopher Jenner (Fra-C.A) at 03,08
9. Frédéric Amorison (Bel-Lot) at 03,09
10. Cadel Evans (Aus-Map) at 03,09
11. Lorenzo Cardellini (Ita-Acq) at 03,09
12. Harald Morscher (Aut-Nur) at 03,09
13. Sebastian Denke (Ger-Lta) at 03,09
14. Martin Moser (Aut-Gbk) at 03,09
15. Scott Sunderland (Aus-Eds) at 03,09

Related Articles
Devis Miorin wins first stage Uniqa Classic

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |