Search the news archive:
2007 USA Cycling Pro Road Race Preview
By Staff
Date: 8/31/2007
2007 USA Cycling Pro Road Race Preview

2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships Road Race Preview including a start list of riders.

All images courtesy of USA Cycling Championships

The USA Cycling Professional Road Race Championship, a one-day road race which began in 1985, will be defended by Greenville resident and ProTour rider Hincapie. Over 100 cyclists will climb Paris Mountain four times during the race. For spectators watching in downtown Greenville, they will see the peloton pass a total of 10 times.

At 110 miles (177 km), the road race is slightly shorter than last yearís version. Cyclists will climb Paris Mountain, one of the most prominent ridges in South Carolina, four times instead of five times this year. New for 2007 will be three start circuits, or short laps, that will be in addition to the three finish circuits.

"Adding more circuits to the road race allows spectators to enjoy more racing in the downtown area. This section of the course covers 3.5 miles of downtown streets, including two sections through Cleveland Park. Spectators can see the action as often as six times, or have the flexibility to watch the start laps in one section and move to a second location for the finish laps," Aronhalt explained about the road race course.

Each of the full laps should take the peloton approximately 45 minutes to complete. The finish line will be along Main Street, near the intersection of Broad Street, with the cyclists expected to finish between 4:45 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. on Sunday, depending upon the average speed of the peloton. The awards ceremony will follow at a stage on Broad Street.

"I was truly impressed with both the course and the crowds in Greenville last year and am looking forward to coming back again. The course suited me very well, so hopefully they will not change it too much. I hope that after the Tour de France that I can just put forward another strong performance like last year," said Discovery Channelís Levi Leipheimer, who finished second last year in the Road Race.

Route details:

  • 110 miles/ 177 km; Start 1:00 p.m. with finish approximately 5:00pm
  • Start/Finish in downtown Greenville at Main and Broad streets, next to event Expo
  • Three start circuits of 3.76 miles (6.1 km) each, followed by four full laps of 21.85 miles (35.2 km) each and three finishing circuits of 3.76 miles (6.1 km) each. The start and finish circuits are the same. The full laps include the climb up Paris Mountain.

Route maps and details for each professional race can be found at the official web site,

Previous Winners
2006 George Hincapie Discovery Channel
2005 Chris Wherry Health Net-Maxxis
2004 Freddy Rodriguez Acqua e Sapone
2003 Mark McCormack Saturn Cycling Team
2002 Mark Walters Navigators Insurance
2001 Freddy Rodriguez Domo-Farm Frites
2000 Henk Vogels Mercury
1999 Jakob Piil Acceptcard
1998 George Hincapie US Postal Service
1997 Massimiliano Lelli Saeco-Cannondale
1996 Edd Gragus US Postal Service
1995 Norm Alvis Saturn
1994 Sean Yates Motorola
1993 Lance Armstrong Motorola
1992 Bart Bowen Subaru-Montgomery
1991 Michel Zanoli Tulip
1990 Paolo Cimini Gis-Benotto
1989 Greg Ovaretz Coors Light-ADR
1988 Robert Gaggioli Pepsi-Fanini
1987 Tom Schuler 7-Eleven
1986 Thomas Prehn Schwinn-Icy Hot
1985 Eric Heiden 7-Eleven

Start List

BMC Pro Cycling Team
David Galvin
Jonathan Garcia
Kenneth Hanson
Chad Hartley
Ian McKissick
Nathan Miller
Scott Moninger
Scott Nydam
Jacob Rosenbarger
Michael Sayers
Jackson Stewart

Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light
Adam Bergman
Anthony Colby
Andrew Guptill
Daniel Vaillancourt
Tyler Wren

Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team
George Hincapie
Levi Leipheimer
Bradley White

HealthNet presented by Maxxis
Matthew Crane
Timothy Johnson
Roman Kilun
Jeff Louder
Shawn Milne
John Murphy
Kirk O'Bee
Douglas Ollerenshaw
K Frank Pipp

Jelly Belly Cycling Team
Andrew Bajadali
Alexander Candelario
Michael Cody
Brian Dziewa
Brice Jones
Michael Jones
Bryce Mead
Jeremy Powers
Nicholas Reistad

Kelly Benefit Strategies / Medifast
Daniel Bowman
Jonathan Mumford
Jonathan Sundt - Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Cycling Team
Jesse Anthony
Ben Raby
Joshua Thornton
Dan Timmerman

Navigators Insurance Cycling Team
Matthew Cooke
David Rodriguez
Bernard VanUlden
Kyle Wamsley
Michael Wolf
Phil Zajicek

Nerac Pro Cycling Team
Aidan Charles
Alec Donahue
Daniel Holt
Christopher Jones
Todd Yezefski

Priority Health presented by Bissell Pro Cycling Team
Abraham Emile
Richard England
Graham Howard
Ben Jacques-Maynes
Robbie King
Edward King
Ken Omer
Garrett Peltonen
Morgan Schmitt
Brian Sheedy
Tom Zirbel
Scott Zwizanski

Rite Aid Pro Cycling Team
Ian Ayers
Clayton Barrows
Ryan DeWald
Mike Norton
Jake Rytlewski presented by Parkpre
Michael Grabinger
Curtis Gunn
Daniel Ramsay

Team CSC
Bobby Julich
Dave Zabriskie

Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle
Blake Caldwell
Steven Cozza
Mike Creed
Jason Donald
Timothy (Timmy) Duggan
Lucas Euser
Mike Friedman
William Frischkorn
Charles (Brad) Huff
Michael Lange
Ian MacGregor
Patrick McCarty
Danny Pate
Thomas Peterson

The Jittery Joe's - Zero Gravity Pro Cycling Team
Thad Dulin
Timothy Henry
Matt Shriver

Tinkoff Credit Systems
Tyler Hamilton

Toyota - United Pro Cycling Team
Chris Baldwin
Justin England
T Burke Swindlehurst
Christopher Wherry

Related Articles
2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships
2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships TT Preview

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |