Search the news archive:
2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships TT Preview
By Staff
Date: 8/30/2007
2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships TT Preview

2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships Preview including a preliminary start list of riders.

All images courtesy of USA Cycling Championships

Last year marked the first time that an American was recognized as a professional individual time trial champion, and the route proved to be a compelling test for 54 professionals. Utah-native Zabriskie won the first-ever Stars and Stripes jersey for this discipline in dramatic style, finishing 32 seconds ahead of the 2005 Elite Time Trial National Champion, Chris Baldwin (Toyota-United Professional Cycling Team). Baldwin crashed off the course on a sharp 90-degree right hand turn headed toward the finish line at The Cliffs Valley, and could not make up the time.

"Last year's race definitely had a bit more of an air of importance than it had in the past when it was teamed with the amateur events. I like the venue and the city of Greenville is very supportive of the championships," Baldwin, who lives and trains in Colorado, said. "I think the course is a very appropriate time trial course for a championship event. It's not too extremely flat or too hilly. It's a happy medium of a few rollers with a few sticklers at the end. It's not as much as a climber's time trial like the ones we did in the Amgen Tour of California or the Tour de Georgia and it's not just for the big power guys, either."

In a move that will allow spectators to enjoy the beautiful scenery at The Cliffs Valley and the athletes to Hammer home, the finish line of this year's USA Cycling Professional Individual Time Trial, presented by The Cliffs, has been moved and placed adjacent to the golf course. The distance of this national championship race, scheduled for Saturday, September 1, has also changed from 20.15 miles (32.4 km) to 18.7 miles (30.1 km).

This adjustment to the Individual Time Trial will situate the finish line, as well as spectator and media amenities, near the scenic Ben Wright-designed Cliffs Valley golf course. The staging area will sit along Terry Creek Road next to the community's soccer fields. This change in the final kilometer will also eliminate the highly technical, 90-degree right hand turn along the course, allowing competitors to concentrate more on the clock and less on course conditions.

Route details:

  • 18.7 miles/30.1 km; Start 11:00 a.m.
  • Staggered start at one minute intervals from The Cliffs at Mountain Park to The Cliffs Valley
  • Four-mile section of course is "out and back"
  • Hospitality venues located at both start and finish

Year Cyclist Team
2006 Dave Zabriskie Team CSC

Year Cyclist
2006 Ian McKissick
2005 Chris Baldwin
2004 David Zabriskie
2003 Chris Baldwin
2002 Dylan Casey
2001 Trent Klasna
2000 Adham Sbeih
1999 Levi Leipheimer
1998 Dylan Casey
1997 Jonathan Vaughters
1996 Steve Hegg
1995 Steve Hegg
1994 Clay Moseley
1993 Scott Mercer
1992 John Stenner
1991 Kent Bostick
1990 Steve Hegg
1989 Nathan Sheafor
1988 John Frey
1987 Norman Alvis
1986 Karl Maxon
1985 Kent Bostick

Route maps and details for each professional race can be found at the official web site,

Time Trial Riders - Preliminary List in Alphabetical Order

Chris Baldwin (Toyota - United Pro Cycling Team)
Clayton Barrows (Rite Aid Pro Cycling Team)
Blake Caldwell (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Steven Cozza (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Matthew Crane (HealthNet presented by Maxxis)
Mike Creed (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Timothy (Timmy) Duggan (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Thad Dulin (The Jittery Joe's - Zero Gravity Pro Cycling Team)
Mike Friedman (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Michael Grabinger ( presented by Parkpre)
Curtis Gunn ( presented by Parkpre)
Andrew Guptill (Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light)
Tyler Hamilton (Tinkoff Credit Systems)
Graham Howard (Priority Health presented by Bissell Pro Cycling Team)
Ben Jacques-Maynes (Priority Health presented by Bissell Pro Cycling Team)
Bobby Julich (Team CSC)
Levi Leipheimer (Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team)
Craig Lewis (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Ian McKissick (BMC Pro Cycling Team)
Bryce Mead (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)
Jonathan Mumford (Kelly Benefit Strategies / Medifast)
Mike Norton (Rite Aid Pro Cycling Team)
Danny Pate (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Saul Raisin (Credit Agricole)
Daniel Ramsay ( presented by Parkpre)
Nicholas Reistad (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)
Jacob Rosenbarger (BMC Pro Cycling Team)
Joshua Thornton ( - Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Cycling Team)
Bernard VanUlden (Navigators Insurance Cycling Team)
Dave Zabriskie (Team CSC)
Phil Zajicek (Navigators Insurance Cycling Team)
Tom Zirbel (Priority Health presented by Bissell Pro Cycling Team)

Related Articles
2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |