Search the news archive:
Post Tour criterium - Profronde van Heerlen
By Staff
Date: 8/5/2007
Post Tour criterium - Profronde van Heerlen

Post-Tour criterium - Profronde van Heerlen
The Twilight Criterium in Heerlen had the tour riders fighting to escape in front of large crowds but it was young Thomas Dekker who lit up the night with his last kilometer attack.

Bart Hazen

The Profronde van Heerlen is the fifth Post-Tour criterium in Holland. Michael Boogerd won the Criterium of Boxmeer, Thomas Dekker won the criterium of Stiphout, Koos Moerenhout won the Acht van Chaam and Michael Boogerd won again in Wateringen.

The biggest attraction was the planned appearance of the winner of the green jersey in the Tour de France, Tom Boonen. Tom was contracted by Cyclingservice for this race. Cyclingservice is the organization who contracts the riders for each criterium in the Netherlands and Belgium and other locales.

Gert Steegmans Photo © Bart Hazen

Unfortunately Tom Boonen didn’t participate in the criterium as he had some stomach problems. Yesterday, due to the illness, Tornado Tom abandoned the criterium of Herentals as well after 2 laps of racing. Boonen didn’t want his start bonus because of that and he donated it to the "Move to Improve" project of Doctor Guy Molenaers. Doctor Molenaers' cares for children with a brain paralysis in the university hospital of Pellenberg (Belgium).

Despite the absence of Tom Boonen (Quick Step) the criterium still had some good riders at the start like Thomas Dekker (Rabobank), Bram de Groot (Rabobank), Steven de Jongh (Quick Step), winner of the Tour stage to Gent Gert Steegmans (Quick Step) and the latern rouge in the Tour Wim Vansevenant (Predictor-Lotto).

Thomas Dekker attacks... Photo © Bart Hazen

'After the Tour' riders had a ride in the sponsored convertibles and where honored on the streets of Heerlen, the criterium started at about 8:15 in the evening as the sun set and continued through twilight; as most of the after tour criteriums do. In the beginning riders like Ben Berden, Bart Thijssen and Peter Möhlmann tried to escape but without success.

Wim Vansevenant was in an attacking mode in Heerlen. Photo © Bart Hazen

Even the Wim Vansevenant the tour's two time Lantern Rouge tried to escape several time; he was chased down as quickly as he attacked. The first real break of the race came from Thomas Dekker (Rabobank) and Gert Steegmans (Quick Step). The two had a solid lead but in the final 15 laps of the race they too were reeled in as the other attempts were.

Steegmans and Vansevenant away on a flyer. Photo © Bart Hazen

Attacks continued with riders giving it a go, Steven de Jongh, Gert Steegmans and Wim Vanseveant but without success. In the final laps of the race a break of three rode away with Thomas Dekker, Steven de Jongh and Bram de Groot.

Rabo lad Dekker scores the victory. Photo © Bart Hazen

Dekker escaped in the final kilometer of the race and won the criterium of Heerlen shortly followed by Steven de Jongh and Bram de Groot.

Thomas Dekker with his flowers and a very pretty podium lass.
Photo © Bart Hazen

The podium relaxes for photos: Steven de Jongh, Thomas Dekker, podium lass and Bram de Groot. Photo © Bart Hazen

Profronde van Heerlen
1 Thomas Dekker (Rabobank)
2 Steven de Jongh (Quick Step)
3 Bram de Groot (Rabobank)

Heerlen Criterium Bart Hazen Photo Gallery.
More results from the "Post Tour Criteriums" below.

Bram de Groot

Other criterium results in Europe this week:
Criterium de Lisieux (France)
1 Christophe Moreau (Ag2r)
2 Sandy Casar (Francaise des Jeux)
3 Franck Renier (Bouygues Telecom)

Acht van Chaam (The Netherlands)
1 Koos Moerenhout (Rabobank)
2 Mauricio Soler (Team Barloworld)
3 Bram Tankink (Quick Step)

Criterium Neuss (Germany
1 Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner)
2 Bert Grabsch (T-Mobile)
3 Erik Zabel (Milram)

Welser Innenstadt Kriterium (Austria)
1 Rupert Probst (RC ARBÖ Resch & Frisch)
2 Danilo Di Luca (Liquigas)
3 Bernhard Eisel (T-Mobile)

Criterium Wateringen (The Netherlands)
1 Michael Boogerd (Rabobank)
2 Mauricio Soler (Team Barloworld)
3 Theo Bos (Track)

Criterium Lorsch (Germany)
1 Linus Gerdemann (T-Mobile)
2 Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner)
3 Daniele Bennati (Lampre)

Criterium Herentals (Belgium)
1 Filippo Pozzato (Liquigas)
2 Nick Nuyens (Cofidis)
3 Stijn Devolder (Discovery Channel)

Wiesbauer Rathauskriterium (Austria)
1 Fabian Cancellara (CSC)
2 Bernhard Kohl (Gerolsteiner)
3 Cadel Evans (Predictor-Lotto)

Nacht von Hannover (Germany)
1 Grischa Niermann (Rabobank)
2 Linus Gerdemann (T-Mobile)
3 Stefan Schumacher (Gerolsteiner)

Related Articles
Why I (STILL) Love the Tour de France
Cycling News Roundup 2 August 2007
Cycling Team Notes 3 August 2007

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |