Search the news archive:
55ème édition du Circuit de la Sarthe Stage 2
By Podofdonny
Date: 4/11/2007
55ème édition du Circuit de la Sarthe Stage 2

2nd Stage (11 April) : Riaillé-Angers (99,8 km)

The second day of the race and things begin to get very serious, with a 100 kilometre race this morning and a 8.8 kilometre time trial this afternoon to sort the contenders from the pretenders.

Leaving Riaillé this morning in sunshine it was Kilian Patour (Team Slipstream-Chipotle) who made the first decisive attack, unfortunately no one joined the Frenchman and after 20 kilometres of solitude he found himself back in the company of the peloton.

It was then the turn of Nicolas Crosbie (Bouygues Telecom), a specialist at lone attacks, who made his move. Team mate of Laurent Brochard, the 39 year old veteran of the peloton, Crosbie worked hard in the sunshine an gained a maximum advantage of six minutes.

There was no Crosbie show today though. Crédit Agricole and Gerolsteiner powered the peloton on and with 5 kilometres to go the race was all together and preparing for a bunch sprint.

Paride Grillo (Panaria-Navigare), made hay while the sun shined and took an impressive sprint victory which added to his reputation in these parts. The fast man from Varese had previously won the Grand Prix de Rennes and a stage of this race. His repeat victory this morning will inspire confidence for the Giro d’Italia Robert Förster (Gerolsteiner) and Jean-Patrick Nazon (Ag2r Prévoyance) finished in second and third place.

Angelo Furlan held onto the Maillot Jaune. This afternoon’s 8,8 kilomètres individual time trial will be decisive..

Results Stage 2

1. Paride Grillo (ITA, Panaria-Navigare) les 99,8 km en 2h30'58" (39,7 km/h)
2. Robert Förster (ALL, Gerolsteiner) m.t.
3. Jean-Patrick Nazon (FRA, Ag2r Prévoyance) m.t.
4. Anthony Ravard (FRA, Agritubel) m.t.
5. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG, Panaria-Navigare) m.t.
6. Chris Sutton (AUS, Cofidis) m.t.
7. Adam Wadecki (POL, Ceramica Flaminia) m.t.
8. Antonio Bucciero (ITA, Panaria-Navigare) m.t.
9. Fabien Bacquet (FRA, Skil-Shimano) m.t.
10. Gianluca Geremia (ITA, Ceramica Flaminia) m.t.

General Classification

1. Angelo Furlan (ITA, Crédit Agricole) en 7h01'30"
2. Kilian Patour (FRA, Team Slipstream-Chipotle) à 3 sec.
3. Robert Förster (ALL, Gerolsteiner) à 4 sec.
4. Jean-Patrick Nazon (FRA, Ag2r Prévoyance) à 6 sec.
5. Mathieu Ladagnous (FRA, Française des Jeux) m.t.
6. Lilan Jégou (FRA, Française des Jeux) à 7 sec.
7. Anthony Ravard (FRA, Agritubel) m.t.
8. Stéphane Augé (FRA, Cofidis) à 8 sec.
9. Paride Grillo (ITA, Panaria-Navigare) à 10 sec.
10. Maximiliano Richeze (ARG, Panaria-Navigare) m.t.

Related Articles
42nd Tirreno-Adriatico. Stage 7 Updated
55th Circuit de la Sarthe- Preview - Stage 1

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |