Search the news archive:
Sequoia Cycling Classic Criterium Men
By Staff
Date: 3/22/2007
Sequoia Cycling Classic Criterium Men

Sequoia Cycling Classic Criterium Men
Toyota/United Pro dominates the criterium. Photos and results...

The Toyota team setting the pace... photo c. Kurt Jambretz/Action photos

A textbook lead-out to the finish delivered the Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team its
first-ever 1-2-3 finish Sunday at the Quad Knopf Sequoia Cycling Classic Criterium. Ivan Dominguez took the win – his fifth of the season – while teammates Ivan Stevic and Henk Vogels crossed the finish line in second and third, respectively, at the end of the 40-mile (64.4 km) race in Visalia, Calif.

"de train, de train!" photo c. Kurt Jambretz/Action photos

“You can pretty much say domination was the word of the day,” Vogels said. Dominguez said the victory was even more memorable because of his teammates’ finishes. “It was nice to see Stevic and Henk get second and third,” he said. “I looked back and saw they were right behind me and thought ‘this is good.’ ”

Toyota-United Team Director Harm Jansen said he knew a sweep was possible, but not likely due to the quality of sprinters in the field. “It was a perfect lead-out from setting tempo, to ramping it up and having the guys peel off,” Jansen said. “I think the guys are pretty much getting the feel of each other.”

Toyota-United’s sweep of the top three podium places is a rare accomplishment on the National Race Calendar circuit. It was last achieved on June 18, 2006 when the Health Net/Maxxis squad finished 1-2-3 overall at the Nature Valley Grand Prix Stage Race.

Key to accomplishing the impressive finish, Jansen said, was keeping the pace high throughout the 57-lap race. “Every team knew to have a chance to win, they would have to break away,” he said.

BMC attack... photo c. Kurt Jambretz/Action photos

There were plenty of attacks launched in the first half of the race, but none of them stuck thanks to the rapid pace set by Toyota-United. With 20 laps to go, the team put all eight of its riders on the front to prepare for a furious finish.

Break           photo c. Kurt Jambretz/Action photos

“With five laps to go, we were riding tempo at 45 kph (29 mph),” Vogels said. “When Chris Wherry took over with a lap to go, the speed was up to 55 kph (34 mph) and I was doing about 60 kph (37 mph) when Ivan and Stevic came around me down the stretch.”

All Toyota/United at the line  photo c. Kurt Jambretz/Action photos

Dominguez’s victory was Toyota-United’s seventh of the season and its third at an NRC event. The Cuban said despite his impressive results to date, there is still room for improvement. “Right now I’m about 70 percent,” Dominguez said. “I don’t want to get in form too quickly because there are still a lot of races to come.”

Coming into the weekend, Toyota-United led the NRC team standings and had three riders in the top 10 in the individual rankings. “We go into Redlands with very good morale,” Jansen said, looking ahead to this week’s four-day stage race which begins Thursday.

Vogels, Dominguez and Stevic  photo c. Kurt Jambretz/Action photos

2007 Quad Knopf Sequoia Cycling Classic
Results – Pro/Elite 1/2 Categories – Visalia Criterium

1 Ivan Dominguez Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team 4
2 Ivan Stevic Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team 3
3 Henk Vogels Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team 1

4 Alejandro Acton Colavita/ Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light 34
5 Charles Dionne Colavita/ Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light 36
6 Jackson Stewart BMC Professional Cycling Team 17
7 Alessandro Bazzana Successful P/B Parkpre 76
8 keven Lacombe Volkswagen/Trek 96
9 Daniel Schmatz BMC Professional Cycling Team 16
10 Dusan Ganic Successful P/B Parkpre 79

Ivan "Cuban Missle Crisis" Dominguez photo c. Kurt Jambretz/Action photos

11 Emile Abraham Priority Health 66
12 Ken Hanson BMC Professional Cycling Team 12
13 Andrew Crater Team Wheel & Sprocket 92
14 Chad Hartley BMC Professional Cycling Team 13
15 Devon Vigus California Giant/Specialized 32
16 Garett Peltonen Priority Health 70
17 Jonathan Sundt Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast 58
18 Kirk Carlsen Team Rubicon 88
19 Martin Gilbert Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast 54
20 Michael Grabinger Hagens-Berman LLP 47
21 Peter Hatton Colavita/ Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light 38
22 David Guttenplan CRCA/Sakonnet Technology U25 41
23 Nick Clayville Hagens-Berman LLP 45
24 Davide Frattini Colavita/ Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light 37
25 Paul Che Team 5 Star 97
26 Edward King Priority Health 69
27 Brian Buchholz BPG/ Montano Velo 20
28 Andy Jacques-Maynes California Giant/Specialized 33
29 Jamiel Danesh Kodak Gallery P/B Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. 91
30 Chris Wherry Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team 10

32 Thurlow Rogers Sonance-Specialized 74
33 Alexi Martinez Successful P/B Parkpre 81
35 Patrick Dunaway California Giant/Specialized 25
36 Jonathan Garcia BMC Professional Cycling Team 11
37 Dean Peters Unattached 93
38 Jesse Moore California Giant/Specialized 30
39 Bob Newman pacific state bank/ anderson homes 64
40 Max Jenkins California Giant/Specialized 27
41 eric wohlberg Symmetrics 86
42 Anthony Colby Colavita/ Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light 35
43 Chris Hipp Labor Power 61
44 Ulrich DeYoung Hagens-Berman LLP 46
45 Curtis Gunn Successful P/B Parkpre 80
46 Dirk Copeland California Giant/Specialized 24
47 David PIERCE Stanford 75
48 Scott Zwizanski Priority Health 72
49 Christian Valenzuela Successful P/B Parkpre 83
50 Tyler Wren Colavita/ Sutter Home presented by Cooking Light 39

51 Paul SUMNER Adobe/Schwalbe/Lombardi Sports 95
53 Christian Kearny BPG/ Montano Velo 22
54 Phillip Gaimon CRCA/Sakonnet Technology U25 40
55 Daniel Larson Cycle Science 44
56 Gavriel Epstein CRCA/Sakonnet Technology U25 43
57 Ben Kneller Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory 73
58 Josh Tack Hagens-Berman LLP 50
59 Daniel Harm Team Rubicon 89
60 Chad Nikolz Hagens-Berman LLP 49
61 Todd Hancock p/b Potters 51
62 Ryan Morris Team Rio Grande 87
63 Andy Cornelison CRCA/Sakonnet Technology U25 42
64 Jacob Rosenbarger BMC Professional Cycling Team 14
65 John Hunt California Giant/Specialized 26
66 Adrian Hegyvery Hagens-Berman LLP 48
67 Kevin Bouchard-Hall Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast 59
68 Matthew WILLINGER BPG/ Montano Velo 19
69 Omer Ken Priority Health 67
70 Javier Pimental SouthBay Wheelmen 85

71 Ryan Yee Successful P/B Parkpre 84
72 Osvaldo Olmos California Giant/Specialized 31
73 Keith Miller California Giant/Specialized 29
74 Ben Stafford Page Mill Racing 65
75 Caleb Manion Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team 6
76 Daniel Ramsay Successful P/B Parkpre 82

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |