Search the news archive:
World Cup Cyclocross Hoogerheide
By Staff
Date: 1/25/2007
World Cup Cyclocross Hoogerheide

World Cup Cyclocross Hoogerheide
Sven Nys dominates again in the rain and hail in the final World Cup of Cyclocross. Report and Photos.

By Bart Hazen

Sven Nys Wins at Hoogerheide
Photo c. Bart Hazen

On the 21st of January there was the final world cup cyclocross of the season in Hoogerheide. And it’s the final preparation for the Worlds race in Hooglede-Gits this weekend.

Young guns Niels Albert and Lars Boom
Photo c. Bart Hazen

In the Juniors category it was the French rider Arnaud Jouffroy who won the race ahead of Thomas Girard and Joeri Adams. Then the U23 had there race and it was a clash between Niels Albert and Lars Boom. Boom won the race after leading the race most of the time ahead of Albert and Villa.

Lars Boom wins, Albert in the distance second. Photo c. Bart Hazen

The weather during these races was dry and the sun was shining, but not for long...

Hanka Kupfernagel leads... Photo c. Bart Hazen

In the Woman’s category the favorites are Hanka Kupfernagel, Daphny van den Brand and Marianne Vos. Van den Brand abandoned early in the race due to some problems. Hanka won the race with a 4 seconds gap on Marianne Vos and 36 sec. on Helen Wyman.

Marianne Vos  Photo c. Bart Hazen

During the race the sun was still shining until the final lap when it started to hail and rain.

A muddy Marco Aurelio Fontana and bike, before his shower
Photo c. Karen Lambrecht

The final race of the day was the elite-men’s race. The race started 15 minutes earlier due to the hail, cold and rain. A lot of riders abandoned the race and some of them like Gerben de Knegt had super cooling symptoms. Some riders who abandoned where Richard Groenendaal, Wilant van Gils, Sven Vanthourenhout, Bart Wellens, Marco Bianco, Gerben de Knegt, Maarten Nijland and a lot of others.

 Sven Nys once again dominated the race and won. Petr Dlask was 2nd and Erwin Vervecken 3rd.

Men's Podium: Petr Dlask, Sven Nys and Erwin Vervecken
Photo c. Bart Hazen

Results Elite-Men:
1 Sven Nys (Ned) Rabobank 1.06.47
2 Petr Dlask (Cze) Fidea Cycling Team 1.37
3 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team 1.56

4 Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Lampre Fondital 2.01
5 Christian Heule (Swi) Stevens Racing Team 2.18
6 John Gadret (Fra) AG2R Prevoyance 2.36
7 Rene Birkenfeld (Ger) Harvestehuder RSV v. 1909 2.45
8 Simon Zahner (Swi) Bürgis Cycling Team 2.55
9 Jonathan Page (USA) Morgan Blue 3.07
10 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona 3.21

Hanka talks to the press after a strong win. Photo c. Bart Hazen

Results Elite-Woman:
1 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Focus-worldsportstar 42.02
2 Marianne Vos (Ned) Team DSB Bank 0.04
3 Helen Wyman (GBr) Global Racing Team 0.36

4 Maryline Salvetat (Fra) 1.04
5 Laurence Leboucher (Fra) 1.10

6 Reza Hormes (Ned) 1.26
7 Birgit Hollmann (Ger) Team Getränke-Hoffmann 1.31
8 Christelle Ferrier Bruneau (Fra) 1.39
9 Vania Rossi (Ita) 2.05
10 Katie Compton (USA) 2.18

U-23 Podium: Niels Albert, Lars Boom and Romain Villa
Photo c. Bart Hazen

Results Men-U23:
1 Lars Boom (Ned) 50.29
2 Niels Albert (Bel) 0.15
3 Romain Villa (Ita) 0.46

4 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) 1.28
5 Rafael Visinelli (Ita) 2.00

6 Lukas Kloucek (Cze) 2.13
7 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) 2.20
8 Rob Peeters (Bel) 2.21
9 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel)
10 Finn Heitmann (Ger)

Marco Fontana gets his after race shower in Hoogerheide.
Photo c. Karen Lambrecht

Results Juniors:
1 Arnaud Jouffroy (Fra) 38.40
2 Thomas Girard (Fra) 0.15
3 Joeri Adams (Bel) 0.16

4 Filip Adel (Cze)
5 Ole Quast (Ger) 0.39

6 Jiri Polnicky (Cze)
7 Alessandro Calderan (Ita) 0.43
8 Matthias Rupp (Swi) 1.01
9 Marek Konwa (Pol) 1.02
10 Twan van den Brand (Ned) 1.04

Bart Hazen Men's Photo Gallery
Women's Gallery
U-23 Gallery

Related Articles
Tom Boonen - "Gladiatore"

Copyright © 2002-2011 by Daily Peloton.
| contact us |